You are here
Home > Blog > Announcing the Shortlist for the Phil Fox Award for Playwriting

Announcing the Shortlist for the Phil Fox Award for Playwriting

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the inaugural Phil Fox Award for Playwriting! Thank you to everyone who submitted, we were thrilled to receive so many outstanding scripts. Congratulations to the twenty one plays shortlisted…

A is for Appy by Dominic McHale

A short guide to staying alive by Olga Nikora

Bitter by Louise Coulthard

Boomerang by Jack Stanley

Circle Game by Sophie Swithinbank

Daisies and iPhones by Daphne Di Cinto

Drift by Kristian Phillips

Empty Orchestra by Mark Fenton

Entropy by Kate Reid

Grotesque, Stupid and Ungrateful by Natalie Jones

Jerk by Nick Edgeworth

Lessons for Diving by Silas Parry

Necropolis by John Straiton

Nibble Nibble Gnaw by Isla Cowan

Parlour Games by Simon Glass

Pushing on Open Doors by Sarah Connors

Skinhead Moonstomp by Karen Brown

Squirrels by Ayse Evans

The Goodest Boys by Vikki Stone

Well Wishes by Matthew McGuigan

What’s Lost in the Gaps by Jack Robson

The award is named after OETC’s founder who passed away in 2014. In its inaugural year, the prize has been created to recognise original scripts by playwrights from all backgrounds and experience levels, tackling issues around addiction. The playwright of the winning script will receive a £6,000 commission and a year-long mentorship from chair of the judging panel, Tony Award-winning playwright Enda Walsh.

On the 2020 judging panel are leading industry figures Matt Applewhite (Nick Hern Books Managing Director and Commissioning Editor), Barbara Broccoli OBE (Film Producer), Sonya Hale (OETC Associate Theatre Facilitator and Heretic Voices award-winning playwright), Indhu Rubasingham (Artistic Director of the Kiln Theatre), Matt Steinberg (OETC Artistic Director) and Simon Stephens (Tony and Olivier Award-winning playwright of The Curious Incident of the Dog In The Night-Time).

While the competition was open to anyone, writers with lived experience of addiction were encouraged to apply, and submitted scripts could explore any type of addiction from substance misuse to social media and sex addiction.

The Phil Fox Award for Playwriting is generously supported by:

An Anonymous Friend of OETC


Websites for small business by